Hurling

This may end up turning into something of a love letter to the sport and my club, for which I make no apologies.

First_Training_Session
My first training session, way back on 13th January 2018

I wanted to write about my experience and impression of this sport I picked up while living in Hamburg and I’m beginning to realise I should start doing more of the things that I actually want to do!

The Game

Many people have tried, to varying degrees of success, to explain the sport of Hurling, or Iománaíocht in Irish. It’s a sport unlike any other. It’s a little like hockey, a little like lacrosse, with the skills needed for cricket or baseball. I’d highly recommend browsing YouTube for some explanatory videos.

Throw_In
The throw-in of my first competitive match against Darmstadt GAA – I’m the player in the red and yellow helmet

It is, on the face of it, a rather violent sport. To the uninitiated, it looks like a group of mad people running around trying to club each other to death. Indeed, when a little scrum of players forms around a ball on the ground, it can get quite hectic. I’ve picked up a few new scars from these sorts of encounters!

Grounded_ball
Grounded ball resulting in a bit of a scuffle!

However, as you begin to understand the game, the true beauty of the sport reveals itself. Watching experienced Hurlers snatch the ball from the air, pivot, sprint and strike the ball over the crossbar in one fluid motion is quite simply majestic.

Strike_the_Sliotar
One of our experienced Hurlers about to send the sliotar over the bar

I get a real buzz from this sport. The satisfying thud of leather on ash. The loud crack of hurls connecting during a well-timed block. All accompanied by the sound of pounding boots and Irish accents shouting profanities.

The only time I’ve ever had the same buzz, truth be told, was way back in school as a cadet. I commanded a section attack demonstration. It was the first time I’d done such a thing. The crack of gunfire, the pounding of boots on frozen ground, and the smell of cordite. I couldn’t stop grinning.

Cadet_to_Hurler
Two smiles, eight years apart

That’s the thing about Hurling. Stepping onto the field of play is like stepping onto the field of battle; and it’s one hell of a thrill!

The Culture

For Ireland, Hurling isn’t just a sport. It’s a symbol of national pride. It’s a symbol of the struggle against the suppression of Irish culture by the British. It’s a symbol of a modern nation with an ancient heritage of which they are proud.

For me, Hurling isn’t just a sport. Yes, it’s keeping me fit and doing wonders for my mental health – which is often reason enough to join a sports team. But it’s also been a way to develop a connection to my adopted second nationality that wasn’t there before. My memories of Ireland are hazy at best – I visited as a child on a family holiday. I remember sandy beaches on the Atlantic coast, being cold on the waterfront in Malahide, and being shown a field with what looked like rugby posts in with a net at the bottom!

Hurling has helped me understand what it means to be Irish.

The Club

Hamburg_GAA_Frankfurt
My first tournament in Frankfurt – WE WON!

One of the main reasons I’ve taken to the sport with such enthusiasm is that Hamburg GAA has a culture of mutual support and encouragement, team focus, and fun that I’ve not found before in a sporting situation. I was never enough of a “lad” to enjoy competitive sport at school. With this club, though, I want to do well because my team needs me to do well, and my team is worth fighting for.

Every training session is hard. I never leave without feeling like I’ve earned the right to feel tired. We’re blessed with a cadre of experienced Hurlers, Camoges, and all-round athletes who push us to the limit in our fitness training and skills practice. Their dedication to the club is inspiring, their deep love of the sport is laid bare for all to see at every session.

Pep-talk
Mid-tournament pep talk

From the word go, I was a full-member. None of this silly initiation nonsense that some sports clubs make you do. It was more like: “This is Max, he’s from England, he wants to play Hurling.” And that was enough of an intro for everyone to decide I deserved to be there.

I feel valued. My efforts are validated. When I make a mistake I’m not scolded for it but reminded that I can do better. We drive each other on and value everyone’s contribution because there can be no club without the players. This support happens both on and off the field and, as a result, I’ve made friendships I hope will last a lifetime.

Dresden_Tournament.JPG
Hamburg GAA in Dresden after the tournament

I really wish all sports clubs could be this way.

Hamburg Abú!

2 thoughts on “Hurling

Leave a comment