My Bicycle: Pippi!

Only a short one today, I’m sure I’ll find some time over the weekend to post something more substantial.

I wanted to introduce my new bicycle. She’s called Pippi, after the Swedish children’s character Pippi Longstocking (Pippi Långstrump).

 

20130807_145624

She’s actually quite a sturdy bike! Not the cheapest, but not the most expensive either. She cost 1000kr, which is probably a bit more than I would have liked to spend, but I’m confident that she’ll last the time I need her for. Besides, when I bought her, I wasn’t really in a mood to haggle having walked all over Linköping to find the right bike shop!

In any event, the guy who sold it to me seemed to think that it would still be worth something to him in 6 months time, so I may be able to sell it back to him for a reasonable amount of money… here’s hoping!

Second hand bikes like this vary in price quite a lot, and seemingly for arbitrary reasons. I know some erasmus students who have picked up bikes for 300 – 500kr, and others who have bought new bikes for 1200kr. It really depends where you go, and if you haggle a little.

So far, Pippi seems to be holding up well. She’s doing exactly what I need her to do.

 

Tomorrow, I hope to go to the Flygvapenmuseum (Air Force Museum), which I’ve been looking forward to visiting since I knew it existed. Hopefully it will live up to my expectations.

One thought on “My Bicycle: Pippi!

Leave a Reply

