My dog died today.

I got the news this morning.

I thought that the hardest thing I would have to deal with today was trying to remember my Solid Mechanics (A subject that never really sat well with me, and something that I really want to get better at).

She had been ill for a while, in fact. Cancer. She’d been diagnosed shortly after I’d arrived in Sweden, and I was hopeful that I would see her again for Christmas at least. I feel lucky that I was able to see her when I went back to the UK a couple of weeks ago, but angry and upset that it was the last time.

It’s hard to put into words what I’m feeling right now.

Suddenly, I feel very far away from home and the people I love. I feel almost like if I had been at home it might have gone differently, like I could have done something, even if it was an inevitability.

Loss is hard, however big or small, and being abroad makes it no easier or harder to bear. It is just different, I think.

I don’t think there’s much more to say. I just thought you ought to know.

2 thoughts on “My dog died today.

  1. I’m so sorry to have read this, as a dog lover and I owner I totally feel your pain 😦 I hope your loss becomes easier soon x

  2. Your Mother phoned me this morning. Having lost two of my friends, Bax & Knute, in the last few years I understand how you are feeling. Take care. Joe

Leave a Reply

