It’s been a long week…

I feel knackered after this week!

Workload

For the majority of my time here, the Swedish way of running their university education has seemed to be somewhat more relaxed than in the UK. However, the feeling of mounting workload has started to move in. It is only a month until I need to be ready to take an exam in Optimisation and hand in the group design report for Aircraft and Vehicle design, and when I think about how much work needs to go into producing some meaningful results I get a little bit nervous.

It’s not so much that the work is harder, since the level of content seems to be to a similar level, but we have half the time in which to understand the material to the same level. Indeed, when I look back at the course content so far, I’m actually quite surprised by the volume of material that we’ve covered!

Labs

I’ve been required to complete lab work in both of my courses. It strikes me that there is a lot more pressure on students to be prepared beforehand and maintain a high level of mental agility throughout. The former of my two observations is to be expected, I think! The second, however, I’ve found rather challenging. I am not used to maintaining a high level of concentration between the hours of 1900 and 2100 of an evening, and it seems very alien to me to assign lab slots that late in the day, especially when you’ve had an early lecture that morning!

That said, I relish the challenge and university staff are generally very helpful with any questions we have.

Cold

It got cold this week. The temperatures I’ve been cycling into University through are low enough for me to feel Christmassy! I even rode past a frozen puddle this morning. After expressing this feeling to a corridor-mate, he sniggered and said that I’ve seen nothing yet…

I’m not sure whether I’m looking forward to the deeper depths of cold that are to be expected during a Swedish winter… I like snow as much as the next person, but I’m not sure how I will deal with the prolonged cold.

Time will tell!

One thought on “It’s been a long week…

  1. You mentioned the C word already, the second person to do that today …Next thing you know there will be chestnuts roasting on an open fire, jack frost nipping at your nose, yuletide carols being sung by a choir and folks dressed up like Eskimos

Leave a Reply

