Some Swedish Christmas things

I thought I’d talk about a couple of Swedish Christmassy treats.

Glögg

This is essentially Swedish mulled wine. Very sweet and spicy, it is quite distinctive from the mulled wine I’ve had back home which is usually not as sweet. I must say that I am not a complete convert to the Swedish glögg and must remain loyal to the stuff we make back home, but I do very much enjoy having it when it is cold outside!

One of it’s most endearing features, I think, is it’s name. It’s reminiscent of the sound that the drink might make if you were drinking it in earnest.

Pepparkakor

These are gingerbread biscuits. I think that here in continental Europe, gingerbread features more heavily in Christmas treats than it does in the UK. They are everywhere here, and never far from fika.

One particularly nice thing to do with pepparkakor is to combine them with blue cheese while sipping on your piping hot glögg. I hope that I can replicate this experience in the future. I can definitely see that becoming the taste of Christmas!

Lussekatter / Lussebullar

I haven’t tried one of these yet, for shame! These are saffron buns. I’d never associated saffron as a winter spice before, but here in Sweden it is a very important part of Christmas. While pepparkakor are everywhere, lussekatter are the winter replacement of kanelbullar when the Swedes fika in winter, and as such I feel all the worse for not yet trying one.

Yet, I have had more warnings about the quality of lussekatter than I ever did about kanelbullar. As such, I’m biding my time until I find myself in a Swedish bakery where I might get one fresh out of the oven.

Saffransskorpor

Literally: Saffron biscuits. These are similar to the Italian biscotti that you might have with an espresso in a Sicilian cafe. However, these Swedish saffransskorpor are small, round biscuits perhaps an inch and a half in diameter and half an inch tall at its highest point. They are wonderfully melt-in-the-mouth and go well with coffee or tea (let’s face it though, it’s never with tea in Sweden).

3 thoughts on “Some Swedish Christmas things

Leave a Reply

