Jag slutade min intensivkurs i Svenska! Och jag gjorde mer saker också…

To my Swedish readers: I apologise if my Swedish is not correct. I tried my best!

Swedish Written Exam

I just sat the written exam in Swedish. I felt like it went well, but I won’t say whether I think I passed lest I jinx it!

I enjoyed this exam too, it felt quite nice to be using another language. Maybe not fluently or comfortably, but I think I can be understood! I await my results eagerly…

So, besides the Swedish exam prep, I’ve done some more things!

Canoeing from Stiftsgården Vårdnäs

Last week, on Wednesday (21st Aug), I went canoeing with some of the other exchange students. One of the German students organised it for us, and it was a rather good idea! I’m going to use some photos from another student who were there as well, because theirs are much, much better than mine…

A typical Swedish boathouse

Exploring a lake or two in Sweden is simply a must. Sweden has a unique landscape that is quite enchanting, it really lends itself to exploration. I can imagine that going cycling or taking a drive on the more rural roads would be similarly rewarding, and I’ve been thinking about perhaps doing a cycling trip here next year.

The halfway point: a beach at Brokind

In any case, canoeing gives you a great view of this landscape! In the more isolated parts of the lakes, the deafening quiet is only broken by the ripple of your paddles.

The route we took was an anti-clockwise outward leg from Stiftsgården Vårdnäs through a lake called Lilla Rängen, before turning around and heading back the way we came after we got to Brokind.

Hiring the canoes cost 100kr per person, plus a total 60kr (or so) bus fare. Quite a cheap day out, really. We took our own food, having a break midway through our first leg and at the halfway point to refuel and rest.

The first break at the north end of Lilla Rängen

All in all, a very enjoyable day. Unfortunately, one pair did go in the drink, but they were able to get to shore and dry off pretty quickly!

I think that there will be limited chances for similar outdoor exploits in the future. The weather is already starting to get a bit more autumnal.

Leave a Reply

