Time flies when you’ve got lots of work!

This week has just flown by. The fact that it is now Thursday, and I had not yet posted this week came as a bit of a shock when I realised it this morning.

Materials Coursework

In my Materials course, we have been assigned a group project in which we are to choose a product or component which could be (or is already) made from a polymer material. We are then to loosely design the product and then make detailed explanations of the decisions behind the chosen material and manufacturing process. I took on the process part, because I find this most interesting.

The whole project is due in next week but two of our four man group are off to Lappland today. As a result, we have had to make sure that the project is all-but-ready to hand in much sooner than the deadline.

This, in my opinion, is a blessing in disguise. It’s meant that we’ve got that out of the way sooner rather than later!

Finite Element Methods Labs

The Introduction to Computational Mechanics course is assessed only on computer labs and reports, these are done in pairs of students. In order to pass the course, there are three mandatory labs to be submitted by the end of next week. This, however, can only result in a maximum of a C grade. Obviously, myself and my German lab partner are keen to rise above a mere pass!

However, in yet another complication, my lab partner is off to Tenerife. His reason being that it is cheaper to fly there, where it is warm, than to get the coach to Lappland with the others, where it is 25 degrees below freezing. I find it hard to argue with his logic, and it makes sense (if you’re going to make the investment in traveling somewhere) that he should choose somewhere he actually might enjoy!

Therefore, I find myself in the position of having the deadline for the compulsory labs moved to the end of this week!

Swedish Revision

All of the above is having a rather detrimental effect on my preparation for my Swedish exam. The most that I have done this week has been in the form of starting to watch the second season of “Bron” (Broen in Danish), a joint Danish and Swedish TV police procedural drama revolving around a socially inept, blonde, Swedish detective and an emotionally scarred, sensitive, slightly overweight Danish detective. If I try to ignore it when the Danes are speaking and only remove my hand from covering the subtitles if I absolutely don’t get it when the Swedes are talking, this seems like this is quite a useful way of picking up conversational Swedish (albeit heavily biased towards conversations about murder investigations).

In fact, because the main Swedish character is awkward in social situations, her use of the Swedish language is a lot more short and snappy and she only uses as many words as are absolutely necessary. The practical upshot of this is that I actually understand quite a lot, even though my vocab knowledge is not great in certain contexts.

However, I have a feeling that this is not quite enough, and will have to sit down with the textbook and exercise book and slog out the exercise tasks. Though this may have to wait for a little while!

Leave a Reply

